CSN on Facebook

College Sporting News on Facebook

CSN on Twitter


Subscribe to CSN

 Subscribe in a reader

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

XML Feeds

Powered by b2evolution software

« CSN So South: Mountaineers Take Step One toward No. 4It's a New Day: MIAC 2008-09 Basketball Season Preview »

No feedback yet

MIAC Basketball: 2008-09 CSN Preseason Awards

floated rightby Rich Mies, CSN Mapping the MIAC Columnist

Preseason Most Valuable Player Zach Johnson of Carleton and Player of the Year Tim Madson of Bethel lead the fourth annual College Sporting News 2008-09 All-MIAC Preseason All- Conference Team. Joining them on the first team are Joe Scott of St. Thomas, Jon Cassens of Augsburg, Tony Thrasher of Hamline and Mike Moberg of Bethel.


floated leftPictured above are (top, l to r) Tony Thrasher, Tim Madson, Jon Cassens; bottom row: Joe Scott, Zach Johnson and Mike Moberg

Thrasher, a four-year starter, is on pace to become Hamline’s all-time leading scorer in the modern (post-1960) era. He connected on 44.6% of his three-pointers last season.

Madson, a 6’1” senior from Redwood Falls, MN, was the conference’s leading scorer in 2006-07 when he averaged 20.2 points per game and finished second in the league last year with an average 20.6.

Cassens, the lone junior on the team, averaged 16.1 ppg, and was third in the MIAC in assists (4.55 per game).

Scott, the leading scorer on the defending champion Tommies, averaged 16.5 points per MIAC game last season and connected on 50.0% of his shots.

Johnson, a 6’6” senior from Apple Valley (Eastview HS), entered the season as the sixth-leading scorer in Carleton’s history. He finished third in the MIAC scoring race last year with a 20.2 points per game average. For his career, he is averaging 17.96 points a game.

Moberg, like Madson is a repeat preseason honoree. The Bethel big man, led the MIAC in blocked shots (52), while scoring 14.5 ppg and grabbing 9.1 rebounds per game.

The Second Team consists of B.J. Viau and Tyler Nicolai of St. Thomas, Bryan Rosett of Carleton, Will Wright of Saint Mary’s, Chris Schwartz of Saint John’s and Bobby Fong of St. Olaf.

Receiving Honorable Mention are Jesse Van Sickle of Gustavus, Kyle Hamblett of Macalester, Lukas Holland of Saint Mary’s, Carl Hipp of Hamline and Darrin Olmscheid of Concordia.

The league tips off its conference season on December 3. The season culminates in a six-team tourney in late February that decides the MIAC representative in the NCAA Division III playoffs.