CSN on Facebook

College Sporting News on Facebook

CSN on Twitter


Subscribe to CSN

 Subscribe in a reader

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

XML Feeds

Powered by b2evolution software

« MIAC Profiles of Excellence: Zach Johnson, Carleton CollegeMIAC Men's Basketball Week 10: A Week of History »

No feedback yet

CSN Honors Johnson, Vavra and Fritz

floated rightby Rich Mies, CSN Mapping the MIAC Columnist

Carleton College senior Zach Johnson capped a stellar season by capturing the top individual honors, as chosen by College Sporting News. Johnson won both the Most Valuable Player and Player of the Year awards, an unprecedented feat in the four years CSN has been honoring MIAC basketball players.


Johnson, a 6’6” forward from Apple Valley (Eastview High School), led the MIAC in scoring with a 22.4 average. He became the all-time leading scorer in Carleton history this season as well as the first MIAC player in a decade to go over 2,000-points in his career. He averaged 6.3 rebounds per game, sixth in the league, and 2.80 assists per game. His 37 three-pointers was the third highest total in the MIAC.

Joining Johnson as First Team All-Conference selections are Joe Scott and B.J. Viau of league champion the University of St. Thomas, John Fraase of Concordia College, Nate Alm of Augsburg College and Tim Madson of Bethel University.

St. Thomas coach Steve Fritz was named Coach of the Year, his first solo honor after sharing the award the past two seasons. Fritz led his team to an unblemished season, posting a 20-0 record in MIAC play and 25-0 overall. The Tommies, ranked #1 in the nation, are the second team to go unbeaten since the MIAC expanded play to 20 games in 1983.

Chris Vavra of Bethel was named Sixth Man of the Year. Vavra averaged 8.8 points per game, 1.40 assists per game with a 1.3 assists to turnovers ratio. He connected on 32.6% of his three-point attempts and shot 41.1% from the floor.


Most Valuable Player

Zach Johnson, Carleton College

Player of the Year
Zach Johnson, Carleton College

Sixth Man of the Year

Chris Vavra, Bethel University

Coach of the Year

Steve Fritz, University of St. Thomas

First Team

(top row: Alm, Fraase, Johnson; Second row: Madson, Scott, Viau)

Zach Johnson, Carleton College
Nate Alm, Augsburg College
John Fraase, Concordia College
Tim Madson, Bethel University
Joe Scott, University of St. Thomas
B.J. Viau, University of St. Thomas

Second Team
Aaron Burtzel, Saint John’s University
Jon Cassens, Augsburg College
Carl Hipp, Hamline University
Mike Moberg, Bethel University
Tony Thrasher, Hamline University
Will Wright, Saint Mary’s University

Third Team
Lukas Holland, Saint Mary’s University
Cory Laugen, Bethel University
Al McCoy, University of St. Thomas
Tyler Nicolai, University of St. Thomas
Bryan Rosett, Carleton College
Chris Schwartz, Saint John’s University

Honorable Mention
Bobby Fong, St. Olaf College
Andy Grzesiak-Grimm, Augsburg College
Kyle Hamblett, Macalester College
Colin Keeley, Macalester College
Ryan McPartland, Gustavus Adolphus College
Darrin Olmscheid, Concordia College
Nathan Robertson, Bethel University
Jesse Van Sickle, Gustavus Adolphus College